Accidents caused by teens texting and driving are heartbreaking but preventable.
In a survey by AT&T, almost half of adults admitted to texting while driving. About 49% of adults say they’ve sent a text while behind the wheel, compared to 43% of teens in a survey from April 2013. The survey and report is part of AT&T’s "It Can Wait" campaign, designed to discourage texting while driving.
All Connecticut drivers are prohibited from using handheld cell phones while driving.
All Connecticut drivers are prohibited from texting.
EXCEPTIONS FOR EMERGENCIES
Exceptions to the rule exist for emergency calls and calls made while using a hands-free device.
If a driver is stopped for using a handheld cell phone, the fine for a 1st offense is $125 and a 2nd offense is a fine of $250. Subsequent offenses will cost the offender $400.
The fines for texting are $100, $150, and $200 for 1st, 2nd, and 3rd offenders.
TEEN DRIVER CONSEQUENCES
If a teen driver is ticketed for using a cell phone or text messaging the following penalties will be applied
1st offense: 30 day license suspension and a $125 license restoration fee plus court fines
2nd offense and all subsequent offenses: a 6-month suspension or until the teen driver reaches the age of 18, whichever is longer.